28th Annual
CIRMS Meeting
April 21-23, 2021

Note: New Location

Register here
Abstract Submission Deadline: Monday, March 16, 2021. 

Submit Your Abstract Here
2019 Meeting Group Photo 

CIRMS Student Awards Program Student Grant Awards Program
In Memoriam
Dr. Marshall R Cleland
1926 - 2019
CIRMS Ribbon AwardCIRMS Ribbon Award Student Ribbon Award
Join CIRMS- Membership Applcation and payment available now online CIRMS Membership
CIRMS Needs Report CIRMS Needs Report

CIRMS Conference April 27-29, 2015

CIRMS 2015 Conference Agenda

“Fundamentals of Ionizing Radiation”
  • April 27
  • April 28
  • April 29
  • Breakout Sessions Agendas
Continental Breakfast/Registration
8:30 am
President's Welcome
Dr. Kim M. Morehouse, President, CIRMS
9:00 am
Welcome to NIST
Dr. Lisa R. Karam, Chief
Radiation Physics Division, Physical Measurement Laboratory
National Institute of Standards and Technology, MD
9:15 am
Dr. Walter E. Voit, CIRMS 1st Vice President,
University of Texas at Dallas
9:30 am
Keynote Address
Dr. Robert C. Baumann, Texas Instruments, TX
"Silicon Amnesia and Dementia: Radiation Effects in Microelectronics"
9:45 am
10:15 am
Coffee Break
10:30 am
Plenary Session I
Kevin O’Hara, Sterigenics, USA
The Fundamentals of Ionizing Radiation as Applied to Radiation Processing
10:45 am
Student Travel Grant Awards Presentations:
CIRMS Student Travel Grant – sponsored by ASTM International
Mitchell Carroll, UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
Investigation of PRESAGE as a 3D Dosimetric Tool for Proton Therapy by Measurement of Proton-activated Positron Emission

CIRMS Student Travel Grant – sponsored by Hopewell Designs Inc.
Jon Hansen, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Capacitance Methods to Determine Electrode Area and Air Gap for Windowless Planar Extrapolation Chamber

CIRMS Student Travel Grant – sponsored by IBA Industrial
Travis Dietz, University of Maryland College Park
Improvement of Radiation Grafting of Selective Ligands onto Polymeric Substrates to Produce High-capacity Adsorbents for Harvesting Uranium from Seawater

CIRMS Student Travel Grant – sponsored by Radiation Physics Division of NIST
Sameer Taneja, University of Wisconsin - Madison
A Monte-Carlo Based Spectroscopic Characterization of a Cs-137 Irradiator with Attenuating Material
11:15 am
Poster Summaries
11:45 am
Poster Viewing
12:00 pm
12:45 pm
Concurrent Working Group Sessions IAME, Medical App, RP/HS
Working Group Session I
IAME Breakout Session I What’s in the Future for Self-contained Irradiators and their Users? Medical Applications Breakout Session I External Beam Radiation Protection Breakout Session I Checkpoint Screening
1:45 pm
3:30 pm
Working Group Session II
Industrial Irradiation Challenges and Solutions Medical Applications Breakout Session II Brachytherapy Radiation Protection Breakout Session II Panel Discussion
3:45 pm
5:30 pm
8:30 am
Presidents Welcome
Dr. Kim M. Morehouse, President, CIRMS
9:15 am
Plenary Session II
Dr. Michael S. Gordon, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, NY
"Challenges in Ultra-low Emissivity Alpha Particle Detection"
9:30 am
Randall S. Caswell Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Field of Ionizing Radiation Measurements and Standards
will be presented to Dr. X. George Xu, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Computational Human Phantoms
10:00 am
Coffee Break
10:30 am
Plenary Session III
Dr. Frédéric Tessier, National Research Council, Canada
Resolving the Anomalous Behavior of the NE2575 Ionization Chamber with EGSnrc Simulations
10:45 am
Poster Summaries-
11:15 am
Poster Viewing-
11:30 am
12:45 pm
Concurrent Working Group Sessions (continued)): IAME, RP/HS
Working Group Session III
IAME Breakout Session III The Use of Ionizing Radiation in Synthesis of Advanced Materials Medical Applications Session III Radiation Biology, "Research, Devices & Dosimetry" Radiation Protection Breakout Session III
1:45 pm
Coffee Break
3:30 pm
Working Group Sessions IV
Medical Applications Session IV Frontiers of Medical Physics IAME Breakout Session IV Pursuing a Radiation Advanced Manufacturing Center
Round Table Discussion

Radiation Protection Breakout Session IV Wrap-up Discussion: Future of the Committee
3:45 pm
Adjourn Day 2
5:30 pm
Bus from Hilton Hotel to Smokey Glen Farm
6:15 pm
BBQ Dinner at Smokey Glen Farms
6:30 pm
8:30 am
President's Welcome
Dr. Kim M. Morehouse, President, CIRMS
9:15 am
Plenary Session IV
Dr. Firas Mourtada, Christiana Care's Helen F. Graham Cancer Center & Research Institute, DE
"Recent Advances in Brachytherapy Dose Calculations Methods—
The Need for Standardization is Now More than Ever
9:30 am
10:00 am
Coffee Break
10:30 am
Closing Address
Paul Wynne, International Irradiation Association, United Kingdom
Irradiation in a Changing World
10:45 am
Report on Needs in Ionizing Radiation
11:15 am
Closing Remarks/ New Officers
12:30 pm
12:45 pm
ExComm Meeting
2:30 pm
Adjourn ExComm
3:30 pm

2015 Conference Agenda- PDF.